The Sara Hightower Regional Library System (SHRLS) consists of six public libraries in the Northwest Georgia region, serving Chattooga County, Floyd County, and Polk County. The headquarters of the library system is located in Rome, Georgia at the Rome-Floyd County Library.

SHRLS was founded in 1981. Prior to 1981, Floyd, Polk, and Bartow County libraries were part of the Tri-County Library System. After Bartow County left the system, Floyd and Polk Counties reorganized to become the Sara Hightower Regional Library System. In November 2020, the Chattooga County Library System merged with the Sara Hightower Regional Library System.

SHRLS is part of PINES, a public library automation and lending network serving 300 libraries and affiliated service outlets in 52 library systems covering 146 counties in Georgia.

Our Mission:
The Sara Hightower Regional Library System’s mission is to provide information, stimulate thinking, and support and enhance Floyd, Polk, and Chattooga Counties educational, informational, recreational, and cultural pursuits. The primary objectives of the Sara Hightower Regional Library System are to collect, organize, produce and make easily available materials of contemporary significance and of long-term value.

Our Vision:
The Sara Hightower Regional Library’s vision is to be the community’s universal access point for information including printed materials, local databases, and the internet.